CCMS logo

  • Home
  • News
  • Lismore achieves the Inclusion Quality Mark - Centre of Excellence

Lismore achieves the Inclusion Quality Mark - Centre of Excellence

Lismore Comprehensive School, Craigavon has received the Inclusion Quality Mark – Centre of Excellence Award.

This prestigious Inclusion Quality Mark (IQM) reflects the high standards of educational inclusion practiced in Lismore. The further award of IQM Centre of Excellence is an endorsement of the School’s outstanding practice.

In a report recommending the Quality Mark and being designated as a Centre of Excellence, IQM Assessor Ms Teresa McNamee said: ‘’The ethos of Caring and Learning Together is embedded in the wonderful learning environment provided for all pupils in Lismore. Pastoral Care is at the heart of ensuring that the pupils achieve their full potential. Lismore Comprehensive School continues to educate the pupils in its care with inclusion at the heart of every young person’s experiences. I congratulate you all on the inclusive culture within the school which has benefited all the stakeholders especially the pupils who are true ambassadors for IQM.’’

Accepting the Award from Mr Joe McCann, Director of Inclusion Quality Mark UK, Principal, Mrs Fiona Kane said: ‘’We are the first school in Co. Armagh to achieve this prestigious award and Centre of Excellence status and so we are thrilled. An educationally inclusive school is defined as one in which the teaching and learning, achievements, attitudes and well-being of every young person matter.’’

The Award Ceremony was an appropriate celebration of inclusion and diversity. Invited Guests were treated to music, dance and a warm international welcome from a range of pupils. Mrs Dolores Foster, Vice-Principal for Pastoral Care commented: ‘’This is truly everyone’s Award, pupils, staff, parents, governors, external partners and friends of the entire Lismore School Community who all contribute to the life of our school.’’

PICTURED: Mr Joe McCann Director of Inclusion Quality Mark UK, presents the IQM Centre of Excellence award to Mrs Fiona Kane (Principal), Mrs Kate Adams (Chair of Governors), Miss Patricia McConville (Vice-Chair of Governors), Mrs Dolores Foster (Vice-Principal), Mrs Rosemary Lavery (Vice-Principal) and Head Boys Joshua and Jake Coleman

Print Email

CCMS Office

CCMS Lisburn                                                                                             
Linen Hill House
23 Linenhall Street
BT28 1FJ

CCMS Telephone: 028 9201 3014